bought WLToys V262 Cyclone - controller config?

Installation and usage on Windows / Installation unter Windows
dbasberg

bought WLToys V262 Cyclone - controller config?

Post by dbasberg »

I am completely new to R/C, Quads, and HELI-X, so excuse the questions here. I bought an WLToys V262 Cyclone and it will arrive in two days with its controller. I have a very old Esky Simulator FMS controller meant to work with software never updated to windows7 or 8. I downloaded Heli-X demo and hope it will work with either the old sim controller with no buttons at all (it is USB) or the controller that will come with the V262. I have a windows 7/64 bit and a windows 8.1/32 bit machine (actually a 64bit processor with 32bit windows 8.1). I hope I can use Heli-X with something I have. I have no experience with game consoles, but I am a pilot of SEL visual flight reference planes. I expect R/C from an external perspective to be quit different from piloting from inside a plane. I expect to crash a lot and want to work with a simulator to lower the damage to my V262.

So, can I use either of my controllers with HELI-X? I will hope to get the demo working before purchase of the simulator. What available quad model would work most like the V262? Is a V262 model in the works or contemplated?

I really look forward to learning about quads. I hope to develop skills to fly the V262 and then mount a Mobius camera to use for inspection of my 10 acres (about 4 hectares) and the surrounding country and my HAM radio tower and beam antenna (N8VY call). I look forward to the learning.

BTW, I think this forum is heavily German and my last name is 'Basberg' and there is a small community in Germany near the Belgium border with that name. I hope I can visit some day. My grandfather came from Norway with that name and I have relatives there. Also there is a ranch in South Africa with that name. If I can get away from our little farm, I would like to visit all three.