HP Reverb G2 in Heli-X (VR) image quality

For the beta test. Do not forget to mention your computer system if it might be relevant
lama12

HP Reverb G2 in Heli-X (VR) image quality

Post by lama12 »

Hi all,

I'm still new to VR and busy figuring out how to get the most out of the visual settings for the applications I like to run on my new G2 (first VR set). Running on a GTX 1070 8GB which seems to do OK so far.

I'm trying to get better anti-aliasing / smoother model in Heli-X. However, nothing I change in the settings seems to give me that. I tried the following:
1) when setting anti-aliasing from 4x to 8x in Heli-x I see no improvement in picture quality but system performance suffers a lot.
2) when setting the mirror window size in the VR setting dialogie to say 2400 * 1800 (double both dimension of the default setting) the performance greatly suffers and no changes in picture quality.
3) when going into Steam VR settings - setting the resolution per eye from 100% to more also does not improve anything but the performance suffers.

Does anyone else with the G2 / SteamVR recognize this and can point me in the right direction??

In addition I noticed that other applications (DCS, testHMD) have a pxeldensity setting that (at the cost of performance) really smooths out the aliasing - what I hope to achieve in Heli-X. Is this something to-be-supported in Heli-X?

thx, Matthijs
Michael

Re: HP Reverb G2 in Heli-X (VR) image quality

Post by Michael »

Hi,

I cannot answer everything , but maybe this helps:

1. the mirror window is only used to catch the mouse movements for the GUI in the VR mode. As long as the Windows mouse is inside this window, the 3d mouse in VR mode will move. For the graphics quality, this window is not important.

2. Note that you have also quality settings in the Mixed reality portal of Windows.

But I am not sure how this really is used.